Vote For The Best Hard Rock Vocalist

3/12/13

Dirty Tongue - Dirty Tongue EP


Dirty Tongue -  "Dirty Tongue EP"
Review Written by Santiago Sudupe "SudupeReviewer"





Dirty Tongue is a Rock Band from Boston, Massachusetts formed in 2010 by guitarist Miguel Arroyo and drummer Adolfo Torres during their time attending Berklee College of Music

Dirty Tongue released an EP which contains 3 original songs and a cover of Black Sabbath.

The first song is "Son Of A King" where the band shows their strength and management of the the many influences of Progressive Metal, Classic Rock and Mainstream Metal in song. In this track both musicians they demonstrate all their quality’s obtained at Berklee College of Music

The second track is "Stillness" is a soft and short song, but it makes a perfect trance with the previous and following song.

"Planet With A Ring" for me is the best song on the EP because it has some amazing riffs and solos with a catchy chorus. It is the track that has the most marked influence of The Mars Volta without being copied and a Dirty Tongue own sound.

The last song is "War Pigs" a Black Sabbath cover. Dirty Tongue makes the cover with the immense respect they have for this legendary band because it is not very far from the original but with updated details due to the present.


In conclusion, the EP has elements of traditional Metal and Rock with some more current stuff, which makes this album very entertaining to listen to and  to appreciate the art of these great musicians.


SudupeReviewer gives Dirty Tongue – “Dirty Tongue EP” 4 starts out of 5.


29/11/13

Hellowen & Gamma Ray in Bogotá, Colombia: Concert Review


Hellowen & Gamma Ray in Bogotá, Colombia: Concert Review

 




Having the opportunity to see two of the most important and influential bands of Power Metal of all time, was a real privilege for me and all the Colombian fans.

For me this was the third time I see Helloween in a concert and for the second time one of Gamma Ray. But seeing those two on stage and sharing their songs are something I'll never forget. Just watching Kai Hansen of Gamma Ray performing his songs he sang in the past with Helloween, was incredible.

The show opened with Gamma Ray "Anywhere in the Galaxy", a song that got us all attendees to enjoy a true show of Power Metal or Heavy Metal. This German group walked us through their new and old songs and surprised the audience playing the classic "Rebellion in Dreamland". Also they played "Future World" recorded and written by Kai Hasen in Helloween.

In conclusion Gamma Ray's show was short, but very powerful and they showed all their musical quality and in which I highlight Kai Hasen, because definitely he is the father of this genre.

After Helloween began the show with "Eagle Fly Free", followed by two songs from the last album in which the audience watched and listened to how great this band is.
Helloween also walked us through old and new songs and especially in one of the new songs "Live Now”, Andi Deris, Helloween vocalist shows his skills as a show man and makes us play a game with the chorus of the song that freaked us all.

I must emphasize that playing songs like "Power" and "Where the rain grows" which I like a lot of Andi Deris era was amazing. What hit me most was the amazing medley of "Halloween / How Many Tears / Heavy metal is the Law with Kai Hansen and the grand finale with "I Want Out".

To close, I think the concert was full of energy and a lot of history with two of the most important groups of Power Metal. Besides seeing Kai Hansen with Helloween is priceless.



24/11/13

The Best Metal/Rock Guitar Player

The Best Metal/Rock Guitar Player

This list consists of my favorite guitarists and the task was that you vote for your favorites and form a great list.


After  822 votes the Best Metal/Rock Guitar Players are::
14. Frank Zappa with 1% of the Votes (Mother of Invention, Solo) Rock





13. Jani Liimatainen  with 2% of the Votes (20 votes for Him)(Ex Sonata Arctica, Cains Offering) Power Metal


12. Timo Tolkki with 2% of the Votes (20 votes for Him) (Ex Stratovarius, Symfonia, Revolution Renaissance, Solo)  Power Metal


11. Dimebag Darrell with 2% of the Votes (23 votes for Him) (Pantera) Groove Metal




10. Tony Iommi  with 2% of the Votes (24 votes for Him) (Black Sabbath, Solo) Heavy Metal



9. Dave Murray with 3% of the Votes (29 votes for Him)(Iron Maiden) Heavy Metal



8. Kirk Hammett with 3% of the Votes (31 votes for Him)(Metallica) Thrash Metal



7. John Frusciante with 4% of the Votes (33 votes for Him) (Ex Red Hot Chili Peppers, Solo) Rock


6. Jimmy Page with 4% of the Votes (38 votes for Him) (Led Zeppelin) Rock


5. John Petrucci with 4% of the Votes (40 votes for Him)  (Dream Theater, Liquid Tension Experiment, Solo) Progressive Metal


4. Kai Hansen with 6% of the Votes (Ex Helloween, Gamma Ray & Unisonic) Power Metal


3. Synyster Gates with 9% of the Votes (Avenged Sevenfold)  Heavy Metal/ Metalcore



2. Slash with 14% of the Votes (Ex Guns N´ Roses,  Velvet Revolver, Solo) Hard Rock



1. Mark Tremonti won with 37% of the Votes (Creed, Alter Bridge, Solo ) Hard Rock














13/11/13

La-Ventura - "White Crow"


La-Ventura - "White Crow"

Review Written by Santiago Sudupe "SudupeReviewer"




La-Ventura is a Dutch female fronted melodic Metal/ Rock. White Crow is their second release and is an album that will please your ears in a great experience.  

The album has incredible drum beats, interesting riffs and melodic female vocal by Carla van Huizen, which shows in every note her amazing singing ability and style.
When you are speaking of bands led by women, you think of many examples, but La-Ventura handles a obvious influence by bands like Lacuna Coil, but it is still original and fresh. Also combines elements of Gothic Metal with Mainstream Rock, which is something you do not see any more after bands like Evanescence.

Every time I hear an album, the first song it has to catch me and "Falling Down" quickly grabbed me with their heavy riffs and impeccable voice of Carla, which amazingly complemented by a song that is very heavy and what matter is that this beautiful voice is not lost in any time of the entire song.

"White Crow" in short is album that grabs you from the first song to the last one, for my taste it heavy music with an angelic and melodic voice. So I think that La-Ventura has great potential and that has nothing to envy to groups of the same type of music.

I highly recommend this album, for those who are already fans of bands of Rock and Gothic Metal, because in every note, every riff you will find a very interesting and catchy chorus or verse that will Rock your world.

Best Songs: “Falling Down”, “Song For An Idiot” & “Neverending Story”

SudupeReviewer gives  La-Ventura – “White Crow”

4.4 stars out of 5.



8/11/13

Top 25 of When MTV Actually Played Music Videos (1998 - 2003)

Top 25 of When MTV Actually Played Music Videos (1998 - 2003)

This Top 25 is inspired by the music videos with which I started listening to music, especially Rock!!!



25.  Queens of the Stone Age - No One Knows





24.  Coldplay - The Scientist



23. System Of a Down -Toxicity



22. Korn - Alone I Break



21. Crazy Town - Butterfly



20 . System Of a Down - Chop Suey




19. Aerosmith - Jaded




18. Papa Roach - Between Angels & Insects



17. Foo Fighters - Breakout


16. U2 - Elevation


15. Red Hot Chili Peppers - Scar Tissue


14. Linkin Park - Crawling



13. P.O.D. - Boom


12. Creed  - Bullets

11. Limp Bizkit - Rollin' (Air Raid Vehicle)



10. Linkin Park - Faint


09 . Linkin Park - In The End



08. Korn - Freak on the Leash




07. Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way



06. Foo Fighters - Learn To Fly



05. Limp Bizkit -  Boiler


04. Korn -  Thoughtless

03. Aerosmith - Fly Away From Here


02. Limp Bizkit - Re-Arranged



01. Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication









22/10/13

Top 15 of The Best Rock & Metal Videos 2013

TOP 15 OF THE BEST ROCK & METAL VIDEOS 2013 

The following videos of Rock and Metal are the best in my opinion of 2013. 








After 800 votes with multiple answers, the best Music Videos of Rock and Metal of 2013 are:

15. Escape The Fate - You're Insane
With 1% of the Votes (11 Votes)


14. Huntress - Zenith
With 1% of the Votes (15 Votes)



13. Deadlock - I'm Gone
With 2% of the Votes (18 Votes)


12. Butcher Babies - Magnolia Blvd
With 3% of the Votes (25 Votes)



11. Children Of Bodom - Transference
With 3% of the Votes (27 Votes)



10. Korn - Love & Meth
With 3% of the Votes (30 Votes)



9. Linkin Park - A Light That Never Comes (Ft. Steve Aoki)
With 4% of the Votes (37 Votes)


8. 30 Seconds To Mars - Up In The Air
With 4% of the Votes (39 Votes)



7. Timo Tolkki's Avalon - Enshrined in My Memory (Feat Elize Ryd)
With 5% of the Votes (44 Votes)


6. Alice In Chains - Voices
With 6% of the Votes (49 Votes)


5. Serenity - Wings Of Madness
With 6% of the Votes (55 Votes)


4. Amaranthe - Burn With Me
With 11% of the Votes (91 Votes)



3. Alter Bridge - Addicted To Pain
With 13% of the Votes (107 Votes)



2. The Pretty Reckless - Going To Hell
With  15% of the Votes (122 Votes)


1. Within Temptation -  Paradise (What about Us)
With 61% of the Votes (491 Votes)










20/10/13

Concert Review: Black Sabbath & Megadeth in Bogotá, Colombia.

Concert Review: Black Sabbath & Megadeth in Bogotá, Colombia.

Date:  Saturday, October 19, 2013.

Venue: Parque Simon Bolivar

 

In Bogotá we witnessed a concert full of history and Metal figures. For this reunion tour of Black Sabbath, Megadeth was the band invited and responsible for opening the concert.

Megadeth with a short show, but incredibly show full of energy and riffs and guitar solos typical of Thrash Metal music, delighted everyone at the Simon Bolivar Park. Dave Mustaine, lead singer and guitarist of Megadeth after each performance said that the Colombia audience  is one of more louder crowds in the entire world and this is why this group of United States play their biggest hits like "Symphony of Destruction" and “Peace Cells ".

Then the legendary British group Black Sabbath shone on stage and started one of the best concerts in Colombian history. The show started with the "War Pigs" where the band shows their musical quality and one of the best sounds I've witnessed in the Simon Bolivar Park.
Each song of Black Sabbath is part of the creation of Heavy Metal. Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler with each note validates that they are the fathers of this genre. Tommy Clufetos, is an amazing session drummer for the tour, who took the show with an amazing drum solo.

Ozzy Osbourne on more than one occasion praised the public for their energy and singing along the  songs. On this tour, the set list is full of classics like "Iron Man", "Paranoid" and "Fairies Wear Boots" to name a few, but also with 3 Song's latest album "13".

Personally I think the concert was too unbelievable and that all attendees walked away happy and calm that they saw the most representative band of Heavy Metal in history with an amazing guest as Megadeth.


My friends and I with Megadeth in a restaurant in Bogota the day before the show.

The concert ticket and  Chris Broderick  Pick of Megadeth